History: Founded in 1876, Jalpaiguri Zilla School began its chequered journey from the present-day site of the Divisional Commissioner’s Bungalow. Gutted down in 1905 as a mark of protest against the Partition of Bengal, the existing crimson centre of excellence became functional in 1914. This premiere Govt. Institution boasts of an infinite list of luminaries in every field – be it Birendra Nath Duttagupta, the first martyr of the district in our freedom struggle, or science and technology, games and sports, literature and so on. In 2018, the institution surpassed all its past records when two of its students ranked unprecedented joint-third in the Secondary Examination and another scaled the zenith of the H.S. Council’s Merit List. This pioneering institution’s motto is, “Find a Way or Make It.”